The newly appointed Dental Council had its initial meeting at the end of 2015. Most of the positions on the Council have been filled at this stage.
Dr Gerry McCarthy has been appointed as President of the Council and Professor Leo Stassen as Vice President. Dr Bernard Murphy has been appointed as Chair of the Fitness to Practice Committee, Dr Frank Burke as Chair of the Education and Training Committee, and Dr Rory Fleming as Chair of the Auxiliary Dental Workers Committee.

Elected dentists (seven members)    

Dr Liam Lynch

Dr Bernard Murphy

Dr Rory Fleming

Dr Gerry McCarthy

Dr Ray McCarthy

Dr Danielle Colbert

Prof. Leo Stassen

Nominated by the Medical Council (two members)

Mr Declan Carey

Dr John Barragry

Nominated by University College Cork (two members)

Prof. Martin Kinirons

Dr Frank Burke

Nominated by the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (one member)

Dr Gerry Cleary

Nominated by Trinity College Dublin (two members)

Prof. Brian O’Connell

Dr Claire Healy

Nominated by the Department of Health (four members, including two representing the public interest*)

Dr Eleanor O’Higgins

Ms Muireann A. O’Neill

Ms Marie Henson* (re-appointment)

Mr James Doorley*

Nominated by the Department of Education and Skills (one member)


Auxiliary Dental Workers Committee. Representing:
Technicians: Mr Colum Sower

Hygienists: Ms Yvonne Howell

Nurses: Ms Michelle Spearman-Geraghty

Orthodontic therapists: vacant